Thread: Hoping someone could help me with PIP and ESA

Hoping someone could help me with PIP and ESA

Hello, I hope it's okay I post a new thread, this is my first time here!

My name is Sammy, and I suffer with OCD and Depression which makes me unable to work. I applied for ESA last September, and have yet to hear anything regarding an Assessment appointment. This wouldn't have bothered me in the slightest, had it not been for my dear dad passing away in January, leaving myself and my mum (who is also unable to work due to arthritis in her legs) in a dire financial situation. Needless to say the stress and worry over money, and whether we'll be able to feed ourselves the following week, does nothing for my depression and anxiety. But anyway, on a more hopeful note, I applied for PIP in July. After numerous phone calls made by my mum on my behalf, there seemed to be a little bit of a breakthrough 7 or so weeks ago. We were told that they had my form, and were gathering more information from my doctor and, I believe, the therapist I saw a year ago. Then a couple of weeks later, they told me they had all the information they needed and I was 'first on the computer'. Meaning, when an Assessment date became available, they would inform me. I suppose it sounds like I'm pretty much set, there's only one thing bothering me. It's been 5-6 weeks, and I still haven't heard anything. I know I must sound silly, because 5-6 weeks isn't a long time, but I suppose I'm quite desperate. So I was wondering, does anyone remember being told they were essentially 'first on the computer'? and if so, do you remember how long it took for the Assessment date to be settled? Because I'm worried that although they've basically told me it should be any day now, it might mean I'm still not going to hear anything for the next 2 or 3 months. And if I haven't heard anything by March, we'll be in serious trouble, because that's when my mum's bereavement benefit runs out.