Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Design Project - Create a solution for a disability-based problem.

Lightbulb Design Project - Create a solution for a disability-based problem.

Hello, I'm Charlie Armstrong from the UK.
    I'm in my final year of secondary school, before going to university, and I do DT (Design and Technology) as an A Level.

The task / brief that I've been given is to 'Identify a problem that people with a specific disability have, then develop a solution to the problem'.

Currently the path I have gone down in research is problems related to swimming, one of which was people with mobility issues or wheelchairs getting safely into the pool, but I discovered this problem was already solved for the most part with various pool hoists etc

So I have come here to get more data first-hand from people, to ask:
    1. What disability do you have?
    2. What problems do you encounter having this disability (related to swimming or water)?

So that I could possibly develop a solution to the problem!

Thank you!

I realize I might have posted this in the wrong area.

Lightbulb Design Project - Create a solution for a disability-based problem.

I'm in my final year of secondary school, before going to university, and I do DT (Design and Technology) as an A Level.

The task / brief that I've been given is to 'Identify a problem that people with a specific disability have, then develop a solution to the problem'.

Currently the path I have gone down in research is problems related to swimming, one of which was people with mobility issues or wheelchairs getting safely into the pool, but I discovered this problem was already solved for the most part with various pool hoists etc

2. What problems do you encounter having this disability (related to swimming or water)?

Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by CharlieADesignProject View Post

Thank you!
    Using a crutch with a rubber ferrule on the bottom is very risky due to the crutch slipping away.