Thread: Public transport aid for disabled users

Smile Public transport aid for disabled users

Hi there,

My name is May and I am currently a Masters Year student studying Product Design Engineering, at the University of Strathclyde.

I am currently working on a design project which is primarily to identify a problem and provide a solution by the means of a product.

I have been doing some research on the topic of improving the experience of public transportation for people with disabilities. I am very interested in this sector; however my knowledge of this area is very limited. I have been doing research online, but I would really like to hear the opinions of people who understand the issues much better than me. Is there any particular issue you may have when travelling on a bus, train or plane? What type of problem are you faced, which you wish there was solution for?

I would be incredible grateful if you could spare me a few minutes to help me out.

If you do not wish to post your reply here, or are particularly interested in my project, please get in touch with me at may212_uk@hotmail.com

Thanks in advance,

May

Well you'll have to be a bit less vague May. I travel extensively on public transport, not being a driver and have experiences of bus, train, and (some) plane. What exactly did you have in mind? Design of wheelchair space on trains springs to mind, some of em, good, some appalling!

Across the country I'm sure there are discrepancies. Where I am - the buses - if they do turn up. Limited space for wheelchair users i.e. one space and if there's a pushchair already in it a wheelchair user has to wait another 15 mins to 30 mins for another bus to turn up.