Thread: Discrimination

Angry Discrimination

My housing association are trying everything they can to not move us. They are saying that I can sleep in a normal single bed. I have spinal injury's and night time spasms. Can they make me sleep in their choice of bed just so they can fit two single beds into our double bedroom, there for not have to move my family: confused:?
    Last edited by chrissie141010; 22-04-14 at 09:57.

Not sure I fully understand what you're asking here. Are you trying to get a house with an extra room as your spasms disturb your OH's sleep? I'm no expert on housing but would imagine if 2single beds would fit in the room and solve the problem then the problem is resolved.

If you were going on holiday would you need to book 2 single rooms? If you were in hospital would you need a larger bed than a single. To manage the spasms.

Most nights I disturb my OH due to severe leg cramps from severe PVD , and have to quickly move to get my legs out the bed so gravity improves the blood supply. Not ideal as he's up at 6 am every morning to be able to travel to work 90 minutes car and 2 train journeys from where we live.

Maybe if you can give a bit more detail things would be a bit clearer for people to advise

I'd be hopeless in a single bed as I have jumping leg syndrome and I'm a restless sleeper who prefers to try and sleep in star shapes. lol

Sometimes I can successfully eject myself from a double bed if I swing my legs out to the side too enthusiastically. There's still blood on the carpet where my head squashed against the duvan base!!

I would tell anyone where to go if they started to dictate what bed suits you in their interests. You need a double bed in one room and a single bed in another if you have a PA stay overnight in my opinion.

I'm guessing that your initial question relates to the so called bedroom tax.

It's hard to comment without knowing a bit more about the situation.