Thread: help needed about scooter batteries please

Lightbulb help needed about scooter batteries please

Hi I am a non driver but havent time to 'scooter' everywhere so with a very limited budget I purchased a pride scooter that folds flat and i can manage to pull behind me to get on the bus.....

very very happy with this even though its chinese lol I could not afford one of the better make scooters made for this purpose(luggie etc). Not even 2nd hand.

My problem is the batteries it has 2 12v 10ah chinese batteries. these seem to run out very quickly. I am about 11 stone in weight, I think only after about 5 miles certainly no further. I live in Southsea, so flat terrain.

Can I expect a better performance from say 'lucas' batteries. Also can I attach larger batteries for the times that I do not want to bus?

Any advice really would be appriciated. Thank you very much

Sorry I meant a prorider scooter not a pride one

you really need to talk to the supplier of said scooter, who should be able to answer such questions. you can't go buying random batteries and hope they work. And if you have to get the batteries from CHINA, was it such a cheap deal? did it come with a manual, they should do.

Take all the details off the batteries and give some battery suppliers a ring quoting the details, there will be compatible ones out there.

I use Manbat as they are reasonably priced. Don't know whether they deliver or not as a friend fetches them for me.
    http://www.manbat.co.uk/

10Ah batteries are not very large. I can't remember exactly, but my power chair has 2 x 12V 38Ah batteries. 5 miles on the batteries you have is pretty good going.