Thread: Families & Social Exclusion

Families & Social Exclusion

Hi, a newbie here to this forum. I'm a wheelchair user with O.I. Type III. I just wondered if any of you guys have had any experiences of being excluded by family members from social functions and events? This has happened to me sporadically throughout my life but I was recently galled at viewing photos on Facebook from a family gathering that I knew nothing about and hadn't been invited to. I know the reason was because the venue was inaccessible but that's no excuse in this day and age to have a family party and not ask ALL members to come. Everyone else was there except me and my Mum. Why would they use such a venue in this day and age that actively promotes exclusion? I really feel angry about this and I'm wondering what to do about it. It's my 40th in 2 years so I feel like I should fight fire with fire and not ask them to my event. How would anyone on here move forward from this?

Thanks!

Well sometimes people just don't think about these things when planning something, especially if you're not a very close contact/relative, who would be uppermost in their mind. Still it doesn't explain why neither you or your Mum were missed off the invite list. Maybe your Mum can have a word with the family member and let them know your feelings were hurt and just an invite would have prevented it.

But to be honest I wouldn't expect anyone arranging a venue to choose it with me in mind if I was in a wheelchair unless it was my child or maybe close sibling or very close friend. I'd want them to pick a location they'd be most happy with as it's their celebration. And I wouldn't let it stop me from inviting them to any function I was celebrating .

Wise man once say - fight fire with fire just burn your house down. You risk your event being just you and your mom. Do you really want that? No, invite those you love and care for and live life to the full.