Thread: Gamers, share your experiences with me!

Gamers, share your experiences with me!

Hi, my name is Finlay and I'm a designer. I'm currently looking in to designing a new means of control for gaming. As well as making it a new and exciting experience, I want it to be accessible for all. I would love to chat to those of you who either like to game, can't game due to restrictions of the means of control, or dislike gaming for whatever reason.

Either reply on this forum or feel free to contact me directly at f1nlaymcdonald@hotmail.co.uk

I'm currently London based so if anyone in that area feels up for meeting, having a chat, and playing a few games, I'd be very grateful.

Hi Finlay.

I LOVE gaming and so does my flatmate who is also disabled. I have mainly physical disabilities and my flatmate has mainly disabilities that effect his mental health, so we don't always have the same kind of problems regarding gaming.

With the fact that my mobility problems leave me in the house a lot, playing on my Xbox is my favourite past time (along with reading). We each have an Xbox 360 and we each managed to save up and go halves on a Xbox One and we are both on Xbox Live.

I do find that the controllers can contribute to the cramp that i get in my hands but what i usually do is alternate between my Xbox and a book. I always have to turn the vibrate off as that exacerbates the nerve pain i already get and i often have to alter the button configuration.

I also play games on my windows phone on the days when i'm out and about (and in the house), although that usually consists of playing Solitaire, Mahjong, Sudoku and other free games.

Feel free to leave me any questions you might have. I tend to come here every day so you won't have to wait long for an answer.

I just hope i can help. It would also be nice to know if there are any other "gamers" on this site as so far i don't know of any.

Lucy (aka galeforce81)