Thread: Severely sighted

Dave64

Cool Severely sighted

Hello, I am new to all this and was hoping someone is in the same situation as me, I will give a quick background on what has happened. 12th November 2013 I was registered partially sighted, filled in paper work for pip, Was removed from site which I having been for past 8 years, as the client said to my manager he did not want anyone on site who could not see, plus doing patrols using my visual aid cane( untrue on both accounts). Went back to see my consultant Christmas Eve and was told more test are required and he wants to see me in months, in the mean time I should go off sick from work as I would not be safe to carry out my duties, this I have done and I am off for min 2 months. Would I have problems getting pip and what other things am I able to receive, my wife works so we would not be entitled to housing benefits.

Hi Dave, sorry to read your story. I don't know anything about benefits for people like your self. But my friends daughter is partially sighted and she went onto the RNIB site. There is information about benefits on there.
    Good luck x

Dave64
    Thank you I will check it out

High Dave my daughter was registered partially sighted last year but also has mobility problems so no extra benefits for her as she already gets DLA high rate. I suppose it would be on the going out and about that you would score points from ESA and maybe get some of PIP. RNIB sight is good to look at. Also in our county we have a Sight Support system where anyone with sight problems can get help and advice. It maybe worth checking out if you have one in your area as well.
    Sea Queen

Hi Dave64,

So you work for a com pay where their client has requested someone else to carry out inspection duties

Are you employed on a full time contract.

I know a fair number of visually impaired and blind people who hold down a full time job but with support.