A new President and Secretary for the European Mobility Group were announced at the Group’s recent AGM in Heidelberg.

Campbell McKee, former Managing Director and latterly Chairman of Unwin Safety Systems, and Jacqui Jones, Executive Director of Mobility Choice, the charity behind the Mobility Roadshow and Get Going Live! events, were unanimously voted in by the EMG members for an initial 3-year term as President and Secretary/Treasurer respectively.

1.EMG.CM&JJ Nov2013.jpg

They follow the outgoing President Øistein Hagfors and Secretary Kim Delderfield who have managed the Group’s affairs for the past six years.

Speaking about his new appointment, Campbell said: “I am delighted to be taking on this new role with the EMG, which has just celebrated its 25th anniversary. I look forward to developing the Group’s objectives to raise quality standards in the provision of vehicles adapted for disabled people, and encouraging closer co-operation between the automotive industry and vehicle adaptation suppliers.”

“I am already in contact with many of the EMG members from my work with the Mobility Roadshow,” commented Jacqui Jones “and look forward to working with them and other members on a broader platform. There are great opportunities for developing new projects and events with the Group that can bring huge benefits to a wider audience.”

The European Mobility Group has over 40 full members plus a number of associate members. A recent major success for the EMG was to achieve European CEN approval on 16th October for its Car Adaptation Protocol Initiative (CAPI), which was supported by EMG members. This sets a minimum common standard for vehicle adaptations; the next stage will be to ensure more general adoption of the standard by EU stakeholders.

Contact details/membership enquiries: www.emg-group.com
E-mail: emgsecretary@gmail.com