Thread: Information on Disability banding!!

Information on Disability banding!!

Hello .. i have a disability .. and have done nothing sports like for a good 8 yrs .. now i'm looking for a Football team to join and am finding it difficult because i don't see my disability . ..

Before i was 8 i had perthes disease in my right hip .. went through traction and the leg lengthening thing and was sorted .. then i got it my left hip(perthes disease) and coz i was 12/13 .. they had no choice but to fuse my left hip so it couldn't bend or move so i wouldn't be in pain .. so i have grown since and my left leg is significantly shorter then my right and still fused and im 35 at the end of the month . ..

Sooo what class/band do i fall into? Any info you can provide would be of great help

Account removed
    I'm a disability coach and because I cannot see you or actually see how you move your going to have to be accessed and you may end up if your leg is stiff and will not bend from the hip maybe playing with people who have lower leg loss or maybe full leg loss.

These players run using one or two crutches, but for me as a coach I'd need to see your running. You would without doubt be placed into a team which fits in with your disability and ability.

I see you come from Manchester your local disability football contact will be the councils disability sports officer. Or why not go along to Manchester United or Manchester city both teams have disability sports and coaching football, you will then be seen and will then be accessed to see which group you will go in.

http://www.mufoundation.org/en/Footb...-Football.aspx

http://www.mcfc.co.uk/news/city-in-t...ootball-league

All football league clubs have foundation and pan disability football teams, so have the premier league clubs.