Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314
Results 131 to 134 of 134

Thread: BT Basic Phone On It's Own Or With Broadband Cheap If On Certain Benefit's 10.07!

  1. #131
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    1,058
    Good that you found a work around Nuke, not long to go now

  2. #132
    Senior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    West Cumbria (Lake District)
    Posts
    10,625
    Yeh, this BT Open Wifi is pretty clunky and pretty slow, so I'm tethering the phone if it's important.

    I just noticed that the BT Smart Hub 2 cannot be wall mounted because all the sockets are on the back. Bit of a design flaw there.
    It needs to be on the wall in my flat (has to go in the entrance hall because of phone/power socket locations) so I'll have to look at fitting a small shelf or bracket, maybe higher up than my current router was because it will stick out more.
    I don't know everything. - But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.

    Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here for information.

  3. #133
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    1,058
    Shame it has to be in the hall up high. Would be a lot better elsewhere. If you have a BT socket, they put a new front on it for the new digital voice.

  4. #134
    Senior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    West Cumbria (Lake District)
    Posts
    10,625
    Wifi routers usually give better coverage when up high on the wall.

    I'll be setting it up myself, no need for an engineer.
    You just use a filter/splitter, provided in the box but I've already got one because SSE don't want theirs back.
    Or I could buy a new dual-socket front plate with a filter built in, they are easy to fit and look neater.

    But you only need the 2 sockets if you have broadband and non-internet phones.
    Putting internet phone on the line disables the 'old style' digital phone connection anyway.
    You still get a dial tone on non-internet phones but they won't send or recieve calls without being connected to the hub.
    There is a covered over phone socket on the back of the Smart Hub for if you still need to plug in an older non-internet phone, just peel the black sticker off and you'll see a green phone socket.
    Last edited by nukecad; 28-06-22 at 16:03.
    I don't know everything. - But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.

    Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here for information.

Similar Threads

  1. ESA basic question
    By Biscuit in forum Benefits - help & advice on disability benefits, incapacity benefits, ESA and DLA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-01-20, 17:23
  2. BT Basic saga
    By Number7 in forum News and general discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-02-17, 16:07
  3. Basic bank account and bank charges?
    By sandyp196 in forum Benefits - help & advice on disability benefits, incapacity benefits, ESA and DLA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30-10-15, 12:45
  4. Can people get ESA if they own their own home?
    By Conceptual in forum Benefits - help & advice on disability benefits, incapacity benefits, ESA and DLA
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-11-14, 14:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •