Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Legacy ESA Change of circumstance prep

Legacy ESA Change of circumstance prep

Hi folks im a newbie here just starting to get my thoughts together on what happens next in my situation and would welcome some indicators as to what im in for with a change of circumstance as soon going to be forced to move home to a different LA.

In a nutshell ive been claiming ESA WRAG for a few years now as got poorly spine diagnosed by consultant, was asked to go to WCA prior to pandemic but obv f2f wca on hold still?? I have been living in my home for 20 years but now a time comes where i may have to move to rented flat in a different LA. I believe they call this natural migration, I was hoping it would be just a matter of claiming housing benefit but oh no UC messes everything up. In addition i dont have phone number to Give DWP and ESA claimants are not required to give DWP tel number cant afford to top up as things are tight enough on ESA as it is.

When i tell them about my move will they transfer me to UC without much fuss or will i have to start all over again and lose WRAG till they done the WCA which no dount I will fail and have to appeal like clockwork.

Thanks in advance a rattled disabled fella...

It's correct that unless you have the Severe Disability Premium with your ESA (or HB) then a move of house to a different Local Authority will mean making a new claim for UC to pay housing costs/rent.

(Unless you are having to move to 'specified accommodation', which ususlly means care or supported accommodation).

Claiming UC will then 'Naturally Migrate' any other Income Related benefits that you have into UC.

That's not a bad thing (like it could be a few years ago) just different to what you are used to.
    In fact you will be better of on UC than you are currently on ESA and HB.

When you get the tenancy of the new flat you make a claim for UC for the rent.
    Everything will then follow automatically.