Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Designing showers for improved accessibility

Designing showers for improved accessibility

Hello,

My name is Paul Barnes and I'm a 4th-year Industrial Design student at North Carolina State University. I'm conducting research for a design project that aims to create an improved pre-made curbless (AKA zero-threshold or roll-in) shower basin. My group and I are looking to design a product that is visually appealing, inclusive of interior design and construction factors, simpler to install, and most importantly increases accessibility and decreases fall risk. In the next generation of bathroom products, we see the potential for this research to make a real difference in increasing the availability of safer and more comfortable shower options to the disabled community.

To do this, we'll be interviewing the following participant groups:

- Shower users with disabilities
    - Shower users with young children
    - Older shower users
    - Design showroom employees or managers
    - Hotel managers
    - Hotel housekeeping staff
    - Interior designers and architects
    - Kitchen & bath contractors and remodelers (general, plumbing, tile, glass)
    - Homeowners who have remodeled

If any of the above apply to you, your input would be valuable to us. If you're interested, you can use this link to our survey. Interviews are very helpful, so please let me know if you're available to be contacted regarding scheduling one.

Feel free to respond with any questions or comments in this forum or at my email, dpbarnes@ncsu.edu. I'm looking forward to seeing how we can work with the community to address this challenge.

Example of a barrier-free shower:
    highlight-demo1.jpg
    Last edited by dpbarnes; 14-09-16 at 21:16.

what happened to age 55-65? Try again mate!

The other question is how much are you going to charge to come from North Carolina to 'Work with community' here in the UK?