Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to benefits, unsure if qualify for ESA & PIP

New to benefits, unsure if qualify for ESA & PIP / timeline of claims

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of benefits and to be honest, it's overwhelming.

Until recently I was employed full-time, for over 10 years, then I was made redundant. I'm now looking at claiming benefits, but I'm not sure if I'll qualify...

Does anyone have any advice or know where the best place would be for getting help completing the ESA and PIP forms for hearing and sight issues?

Just a bit lost and looking for advice...
    OrangeSkies
    Last edited by OrangeSkies; 07-09-18 at 20:21.

Citizens advice should be able to help, you can have face to face advice or even online chat in some areas as well as email advice. Only noticed your post on 2nd page so hopefully you will get further replies. Action on hearing loss can provide info on aids to help with work , can I ask what kind of work you did? I have severe hearing loss in both ears and use hearing aids (I lost my hearing when I was 21 and appreciate you may have speech difficulties as well. Hope you get some support.

Orangeskies,

Were you made redundant or was your contract terminated because of disability/ill health?
    It can make a diference.

The benefit system can be confusing for those new to it. (as well as those who have had to deal with it for a while).

If you can get to a local advice organisation (CAB, your council welfare office, Age UK, and so on - there are quite a few if you can find them locally) then they will help.

There are also online 'benefit calculators' that can help you to see what you may be able to claim.
    You can find the 2 main ones here- https://www.gov.uk/benefits-calculators

Either of those 2 should give you a good start and then come back to ask more about anything you need from there.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Omnium,
    Only noticed your post on 2nd page...