Thread: DWP did something quickly for a c hange!

DWP did something quickly for a c hange!

Just thought I'd share a story about the DWP getting something right for a change. I'm a student on my summer break and as hubby and I both get PIP and he gets Carers Allowance for looking after me, we were advised that we would qualify for Income Support till I go back to university in September. Applied by phone a couple of weeks ago and went to the local Jobcentre to sign the forms and show evidence of my student finance, then had a text saying it would be processed in 10 working days. The 10 days were up today, no letter or payment arrived so I rang them to chase it up. I was told that it hadn't been processed yet and someone would phone us back within 3 hours. From previous experience, I wasn't holding my breath as I know they rarely call back when they say they will so I was amazed to get a call back within the hour, a very pleasant lady saying it appeared we qualified and should get some back pay and that she would look at the claim straight away. She said I would get a text later today to say when our payments would start. I couldn't believe it when about an hour later I had a text to say we were entitled to IS and would get a letter explaining our award but in the meantime would receive a back dated payment of nearly £450 into my account this afternoon, and sure enough it was in by 5pm.

I'm absolutely amazed! Speed and efficiency are not words normally associated with the DWP but they did a good job for us today - just goes to show they can get their finger out when they want to, would be so nice if they managed to do that for everyone!

I'm not sure what to make of this topic, not many students choose to try and get benefits whilst they are on a break.

Also, how on earth is it possible for you to get carers allowance for one another, when you are both disabled?!