Thread: Entitlement to Carers Allowance & Severe Disability Premiums

Entitlement to Carers Allowance & Severe Disability Premiums

Hi all,

I posted on the forum a few days ago but I've came across another problem and need some advice if anyone can help please.

I receive DLA, Lower Rate Mobility & Middle Rate Care. I have been receiving Income Related ESA for around 4 months now, and am still on the assessment rate while waiting on the medical assessment decision, to find out which group I will be placed in. I live alone and nobody receives carers allowance for me.

As far as I'm aware, I fit the criteria for Severe Disability Premium and so I applied for this as it wasn't automatically added to my ESA. However, I was told today that I wasn't entitled to SDP as it showed on the system that someone receives CA for me. I told the advisor that this was incorrect, as my mother stopped claiming CA for me just over two years ago. The ESA advisor told me to contact the CA department, which I did.

I explained that my mother has not received CA for me for over two years and the advisor said that because my mother is still entitled to claim CA, it would still show like she is claiming CA and she insisted I am not entitled to SDP. I was confused and couldn't understand what the advisor meant but when I told her this, she became annoyed at me and started to raise her tone, so I just said thank you and hung up. I just felt uncomfortable.

I done a bit of research and seen that if nobody actually receives CA for someone, but has an 'underlying entitlement', then the disabled person is still entitled to SDP.