Thread: post dvt pip eligibility??

post dvt pip eligibility??

Hi

I was wondering if someone could give me some advice or point me in the right direction as I am new to this.

I had an unexplained DVT in my calf in 2012. Since then I have had constant pain in my ankle but I always had the use of my sister's car to get about. However 3 months ago her car 'died' and she won't be getting a new one. This has affected me in a big way as I struggle to get about, I can't afford a car myself. I have been back an forth to my GP and hospital but all they seem to do is send me for more INR blood tests! I believe I have post-thrombatic syndrome. I am now in an awkward position as the pain and swelling in my ankle has become so bad I now have to consider giving up my part-time job and the degree I am studying full time for (I'm 46, single and have grown up children who live away from home (sounds like a dating site!!!! however I say this for clarity)). A friend mentioned that I may be able to get some form of disability help but the form questions seem confusing as yes I can walk but with constant pain. So do they mean you have to not be able to physically walk or at what point does the pain become unbearable? and does anyone think I will be eligible. I will be on Warfarin and have regular blood tests for the rest of my life.

Quote Originally Posted by wenglish View Post
    Hi

I was wondering if someone could give me some advice or point me in the right direction as I am new to this.