Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Design for disability

Design for disability

Hi everyone!

I am a university student studying product design and am looking to design a product that will help make living with a disability easier. Would anyone living with a disability or anyone that knows someone with a disability be able to tell me some of the day to day problems that are encountered (it can be as simple as opening a jar or as complex as driving a car)? Any help would be much appreciated, thank you!

Thats a bit of a vague and hopelessly wide remit. Anyone on here can tell you of a zillion challenges in daily life. There are already many products on the market.
    Let's see, i use an electric can opener, jar-lid opener, temporary ramp (bought off internet & meant for traffic). A grabber which basically picks things up you can't reach.
    Day to day problems: changing a lightbulb when you can't stand on a chair. Gardening: when you cannot lift, dig, bend down much.
    Getting dressed when your legs don't work and you can't put tights.

Here's a question: how do you stop metal spokes on a wheelchair from going rusty?

Here's a question: how do you stop metal spokes on a wheelchair from going rusty?
    Hint; this has been discussed on here before-
    http://www.youreable.com/forums/show...heelchair-care!

(I like the clear nail-varnish idea, or even try coloured if you want fancy spokes).
    I don't know everything. - But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.

Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here for information.

My daughters wheelchairs never live long enough for the metal spokes to go rusty
    Sea Queen