Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ESA medical failed and appeal failed too

Unhappy ESA medical failed and appeal failed too

Hi, I had been claiming JSA for a little over a year when it became clear to people in both Job Centre, Ingeus and even my Doctor that I should be claiming ESA instead as I suffer from anxiety/depression. So I have been claiming ESA since November 2014 and was sent for a medical about 6 weeks ago and failed it.

In the letter, it said that 1. I failed because I was wearing make-up (which I was not and never do) 2. That my hair was styled nicely (it's naturally curly and was scraped back into a ponytail?) 3. I was dressed nicely (a pair of jeans and a black jacket, really?) 4. At home, I was able to fetch myself a drink from the fridge (???) 5. I had traveled to the assessment by train (with my Mum and had to get off and back on, twice, after having a panic attack..) 6. Had a job in Primark (which I was forced to go to, as part of a work program, while claiming JSA in 2013. I lasted one day at the job, had a panic attack during the lunch break, left and didn't go back)

My Mum phoned and asked for an appeal or "mandatory reconsideration" and they sent out a letter a week later saying what I just listed above. I don't think most of what they said is true or fair. I begged to get a taxi to the assessment but it was too far and would cost too much and the DWP (is that what they're called?) clearly stated that they would not reimburse our money if we got a taxi so I had no choice but to sit on a train for 25 minutes and, like I said, ended up getting worked up (sweaty palms, heart palpitations, throat tightening.. the lot) and ended up having to get off twice and had to wait for another train to come both times... so all in all, it took about an hour to get there.