PDA

View Full Version : Urgent help needed with research into Mandatory Reconsiderations

hanchet
12-01-15, 11:58
Have you had a decision following a WCA for ESA that you disagree with? Are you going through the Mandatory Reconsideration process? If so I would like to talk to you, I am conducting a piece of research about individual’s experiences whilst they apply and wait for their MR decision.

If you are interested in helping please contact Hannah: h.j.chetwynd@lse.ac.uk

Many thanks,

Hannah

hanchet
12-01-15, 14:25
A bit more information:

My name is Hannah and I am studying for a masters in Social Policy Research at LSE, through personal experience and two jobs over the past two years my research had started to focus on welfare reform and disability rights. I have worked with Mind doing research into greater access to services and with a smaller charity conducting research to try and change policy regarding dementia care.

For my dissertation I would like to conduct a study into the long term effects that applying and waiting for a mandatory reconsideration decision has on peoples health and wellbeing. As people are having their ESA stopped whilst they wait for a decision, I am looking to talk to people about this time in which they may be left with no money. As I am sure you are aware people are being advised to apply for JSA in this time which many people have reported finding very distressing and harmful for their individual conditions – I feel very strongly that the policy in this area needs to be changed and that is my motivation for the research.

nukecad
13-01-15, 09:34
Hi Hannah,

You will already find a lot of discussion on these MR issues on this site, both from ESA and a PIP Reconsiderations.

Try typing reconsideration into the search box top right.

The only MR I have had was for a sanction not a WCA so probably not relevant.
(I did have to go to tribunal with my WCA but that was in the days before MR).

Good luck with the research.

hanchet