PDA

View Full Version : discrimination?

ksyrad
15-10-12, 11:48
Hi, I am a sociology student at University and am planning to do my dissertation on the discrimination that people with disabilities endure. I am interested to know whether people with disabilities feel that they are protected by the Equality Act or not. I would really appreciate if anyone could express their opinions and views on my topic. Thank you.

wobble1
16-10-12, 09:02
Hi, I am a sociology student at University and am planning to do my dissertation on the discrimination that people with disabilities endure. I am interested to know whether people with disabilities feel that they are protected by the Equality Act or not. I would really appreciate if anyone could express their opinions and views on my topic. Thank you.
I guess it comes down to what you define as a disability. The general publics definition would be, especially at this time, a paralympian, someone with a visible disability but able to to live a fairly able life style.
There are far more people whose illness makes them unable to live an able life yet probably wouldn't be "classed" as disabled and as such may not be considered to come under the Equality act.
I may be wrong but it sounds as if you are looking for the stereo typical wheelchair user not having access to certain choices, where as in reality the biggest victims of discrimination are those who have to rely on benefits to live. The perpertrators of this vile discrimination is the Government itself, cutting benefits through their partner in crime ATOS and in their terminology such as "benefit scroungers and cheats", which has led to a huge increase in disabilty hate crime.
Nearly a dissertation in itself. Good luck with your studies.

Briland
22-02-13, 15:50
Hi I Suffer from Chronic Post-traumatic stress disorder I was hoping for help here to what is a Hate crime or incident?