PDA

View Full Version : Office chair for the disabled.

wazza
15-09-12, 09:45
I have started working few weeks ago. It is a desk job. The chair I have is a computer swivel chair with wheels and arm rests. Being overweight with back and lower limb problems I am uncomfortable with this standard chair. Plan to have a chat with the person who orders office furniture to see if he can get me a special chair.

Was wondering if anyone here has a desk job and if they asked for a special chair what were they given, which company supplied it etc.

Thanks

beau
15-09-12, 10:05
If the company won't fund one for you try access to work at Job Centre + as they help with suitable adaptations such as office furniture.
Sorry can't help you with a supplier.

Daringsupercaitriona
09-10-12, 01:21
I don't work in an office but I am a checkout operator which does involve doing a lot of heavy lifting whilst sitting down.

My company had to pay over £700 to get a chair made for me. Access to work gave them a list of suppliers but the company had to pay for it themselves. There are grants available for the self employed and small companies. I work for one of the big four supermarket companies and £700 is like a drop in the ocean to them, so they can afford it.

The only thing about the access to work scheme is there is a very long waiting list. I had to wait for a year and a half before someone came out to assess me.

Lighttouch
09-10-12, 08:36
Access to Work is a self referral section of JobcentrePlus. If you don't call them direct nothing happens. You would have had an ergonomic assessment from an independent assesser within a month.

Access to Work no longer supply ergonomic chairs due to cut backs. They expect your company to pay for them.

A simple solution to your problem could be a lumbar support cushion as you already have an ergonomic chair. Or a foot rest.

Good luck.

Daringsupercaitriona
09-10-12, 09:22