PDA

View Full Version : Chronic illness but would like to try self emplyment?

Shimada
18-05-16, 20:26
I am have been in the ESA SG for 5 years now, after moving in with my partner I no longer recieve any payment from the DWP as my partner earns over the threshold for benefit entitlement. My ill health hasn't improved but I would like to try self employment as when I am well enough I do paint ( I have a masters in Fine Art) and I have thought more recently about trying to sell some of my work.

I don't have any idea where to start. I am currently being reassessed for ESA and could potentially not have it renewed so I would like to know both about permitted work and going self employed.

I am worried that when I start I might take many months or longer to make any money. I would also have quite a lot of expenses as I have very little equipment at the moment. I also need to take a few classes to refresh my skills again. I am worried that as my health is poor I will only have a very limited number of hours to give to my work each week so I won't be doing full time hours probably more like 16 hours a week at most.

I am doubt I will earn over the tax threshold but I think I will have to pay NIC to make sure I get a state pension. At the moment I can pay £2.80 (Classs 2 NIC) a week which is ok even if I am not earning very much but in 2018 I think the rules change and they are doing away with class 2 NIC which means I could pay a huge amount more to ensure I get a state pension. One possibility is that is will be £15 a week which is a lot when I might not even earn that every week.

I know many would say that my self employment isn't viable if I'm not able to consistantly earn £150 or £200 a week but I don't have any other choice my health means that I need to be able to set my own pace and hours and at times I may not be able to work at all so having a "normal job" isn't possible for me, if I hope to do anything it will be low income self employed.