PDA

View Full Version : Design for disability

LouisTProductDesign
22-04-16, 11:54
Hi everyone!

I am a university student studying product design and am looking to design a product that will help make living with a disability easier. Would anyone living with a disability or anyone that knows someone with a disability be able to tell me some of the day to day problems that are encountered (it can be as simple as opening a jar or as complex as driving a car)? Any help would be much appreciated, thank you! :D

reddivine
23-04-16, 07:04
Thats a bit of a vague and hopelessly wide remit. Anyone on here can tell you of a zillion challenges in daily life. There are already many products on the market.
Let's see, i use an electric can opener, jar-lid opener, temporary ramp (bought off internet & meant for traffic). A grabber which basically picks things up you can't reach.
Day to day problems: changing a lightbulb when you can't stand on a chair. Gardening: when you cannot lift, dig, bend down much.
Getting dressed when your legs don't work and you can't put tights.

Here's a question: how do you stop metal spokes on a wheelchair from going rusty?

nukecad
23-04-16, 07:23
Here's a question: how do you stop metal spokes on a wheelchair from going rusty?
Hint; this has been discussed on here before-
http://www.youreable.com/forums/showthread.php/12530-Wheelchair-care!

(I like the clear nail-varnish idea, or even try coloured if you want fancy spokes).

sea queen
23-04-16, 09:36
My daughters wheelchairs never live long enough for the metal spokes to go rusty :rolleyes:

Caley
23-04-16, 13:14