PDA

View Full Version : Bullying

Downandout
14-12-15, 08:07
Hello, I am a new user, stumbled across this site trying to find some help.

I've been working for a small company for 14 months. I've had a great year with promotions, pay rises and everything. I stupidly went through the work procedures to complain about my immediate boss as her duties were more and more being put on me as I have previous experience of a manager, and she had none and was struggling .. so I helped her for a long time then got fed up as it was affecting me getting my own workload done.

I've suffered with depression on and off for over 10 years but at the time of starting this company, I had been medication (and depression) free for 2 years.

I was however put back on anti-depressents back in June and have recently started having panic attacks. I'm not sure if this was due to the problem of overwork at work or/and a terminal illness of one of my parents.

Either way, I was off sick for 3 days and due to go back to work (informed them) but before the next day came, was sent a letter 'considering dismissal' and the meeting was 2 days later. I asked for more time, they changed it to the monday, leaving only the weekend to sort anything out. Asked for more time again as weekend is useless, they ignored my request.

I went to the 'meeting' alone (didn't have time to sort someone to come with me) it was adjourned and then they proceeded to ask me questions and things got a bit heated I'm sad to say. I was very stressed and my medication had just been changed so was roller-coasting a bit. I didn't want to go to this meeting, but they'd made it abundantly clear a decision would be made without me if I didn't show.