PDA

View Full Version : University Inclusive Design Project

cjoseuk
02-11-15, 21:59
Hi all, currently i'm a mechanical engineering student, the project been given is 'inclusive design'. To give you an idea of what it means, if you take a everyday object such as a tin opener, it can be used by a good percentage of the population, but imagine someone with arthritis or limited movement in their hands. A solution at the moment is to buy a electric type. The inclusive design part would be to make a mechanical opener of design as not to exclude people whilst also having it not look or feel like its made for anything but the mainstream market. another example would be a telephone that comes with large buttons and numbers but made to look modern etc. All in all the general gist is that most people don't want a product that looks specialized and would prefer designs that that blend into the background as if it was standard product
At the moment when i spoke to a family member with arthritis handles can be a problem especially PVC windows which require the press and then twist action at the same time.
All i m asking for is peoples opinions on what items in day to day life would people like to see have a more inclusive design. as upon looking up some of items to buy that attach to door handles etc are hideous bulky things.
Any insights, opinions or ideas into either products you use or even tasks that may cause a struggle would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your time.
Chris.

nukecad
03-11-15, 07:04
upon looking up some of items to buy that attach to door handles etc are hideous bulky things.

There you go, design a better one.
A better attachment, or consider a replacement for the existing handle.

Thats what mechanical design is all about- do it better than what is already out there, or cover a need that is not already catered for.
Get it right and everyone will want to buy it.