PDA

View Full Version : BBC research on acquired disability and poverty/financial hardship

rcrozier
31-03-15, 15:22
Hi there,

My name is Raymona Crozier and I'm a researcher with BBC Three. We are directing an hour long documentary scheduled to broadcast in July and will be presented by Peter Mitchell, an actor and wheelchair basketball player, who himself uses a wheelchair after a spinal cord injury ten years ago.

We have been following a number of people who have experienced life-changing illnesses or injuries through the recovery process, and back into everyday life, charting the highs and lows, and giving them a platform to speak about their experiences. BBC-3 tends to focus on contributors in the same age range as the intended audience, which usually means people from late teens to thirty-ish. We're hoping to be honest about what's difficult but also reflect some of the unexpected positives, and give as full a picture as possible of what it's like to become disabled. Of course, we know there is no universal truth, and everyone has a unique experience.

We are hoping to speak with people who have acquired their disability and are experiencing financial problems and finding themselves living below the poverty line. I realise that this is something not often experienced by newly disabled people and is often difficult to talk about. We would hope to have an initial chat over the phone with individuals to hear a little more about their circumstances. We feel that the area of disability and financial hardship is important to portray within our programme and reveal the difficulties to an audience who may not be aware of the problems.

Apologies for the long post, but I wanted to provide as much information as possible.

If you are interested in chatting with me, my email is raymona.crozier@bbc.co.uk.

Many thanks for your time,
Raymona

reddivine
02-04-15, 08:14
Try the MS society or shift.ms
also the NKF facebook page.